If I Wish Upon a Shooting Star

If you saw a shooting star
gleaming, twisting its way above
would you shut your eyes in glee
would you clasp your hands in prayer
and allow yourself to be overcome
by your heart’s every desire?

If I wish upon a shooting star
if I shut my eyes in the dark
if I clasp my hands in the dark
will my wildest dreams come true?

Will I open my eyes to a world
where peace is the answer, the light, the reality
where violence is a bloody artifact of the whispered past?

Will I open my eyes to a world
where the world stands together, hand in hand
where mindless prejudice is a bygone woe?

Will I open my eyes to a world
where we need not watch our friends and lovers waste away over the years
where crippling disease is relegated to the dusty corners of history?

Will I open my eyes to a world
where the once homeless man returns to his humble abode
where bitter poverty is a far-off memory?

Or will I open my eyes to return to a world
suspended in light
suspended in darkness
caught in the midst of a dying harmony?

Leave a Reply

